Bring InfoArbitrage Back

Roger Ehrenberg wrote a revealing post yesterday about his waning interest in blogging.  He listed a myriad of reasons — from his inablity to be heard in Washington to the amount of time it takes to teach two sons to pitch.  While I understand (I coached baseball and am stepping up to Pop Warner Football in the fall),  I quickly wrote him that I would be crushed if Fred Wilson stopped writing and that I was not happy he had abandoned us during what I have worried was a confusing economic recovery  I missed his insights on the economy and realized Roger was influencing how I think about my professional life and AnyClip’s business model.

Look, Roger has a massive portfolio and no partners.  He’s busy.  But the reality is this community of blogger/writers in New York Fred, Roger, Steven Johnson, Jeff Jarvis , and Paul Graham ( honorary New Yorker even though he might be offended) are part of a select  circle of intellectuals that are knitting together our internet culture with politics, economics, culture, media studies and a variety of other disciplines. Hardcore, Hardworking tech intellectuals  Mike Arrington and Om Malik just don’t do these things as well and that hasn’t been their role.

Roger plays a vital role in this ecosystem and it weakens without his contribution.  I feel bad that I didn’t write him to ask what was up, but I’m sure glad he posted on it.  I wish I had a twitter petition tool right now to circulate and motivate him, but in the absence of that go to his blog or twitter  him and tell him what you think.

One Response

  1. your post is very kind, aaron, and it means a lot to me that i’ve had an influence on how you think about things. you’re a smart guy, so your kind of validation is very flattering. i’ll get back to it for sure, but it will be in a manner and at a time that feels right. hopefully it will be soon.

    rog

Leave a Reply

